Week 13 Response to a piece of selected scholarship: Digital Storytelling Finds Its Place in the Classroom.(Updated)

Even though this article Digital Storytelling Finds Its  Place in the Classroom is not the most up-to-date one  we can find talking about Digital  Storytelling I chose to read and respond to it because of the fact that it was written by a teacher and is geared towards the use of Digital Storytelling in the classroom. As a teacher I am always looking for new ways to keep my kids engaged.  since starting this class I have been on the lookout for ways to bring digital storytelling into my class.

The place project Tom Banaszewski  had his students do was so open that every single one of them, no matter what their cultural background is,  could relate to. He wrote to that effect that

“… everyone has a story about a place that it important to him or her … places where they felt comfortable, safe, or happy places where they could just be themselves.

This project idea appeals to me because I teach students that are multicultural, and also because I teach a language that is used across many cultures.

The questions the students needed to answer for the project were:

  • What is your earliest memory of your place?

  • What are your feelings when you are there?

  • What difference does your place make in your life?

  • What do you see in your place that no one sees?

The iMovie tips provided in this article are going to be of a lot of help for me when I put together my story. After reading the tips about voice-overs with iMovie, I feel more confident that I will be able to edit my digital story with success. Step by step tips are given to help teachers efficiently record all of their students voice-overs.

I did not find any buzzwords. Most of the computer hardware mentioned (iMac DVs, PowerPc with a UMAX Vista scanner, etc.) are most likely outdated.

I look forward to using the tips from this article in order to pit together my digital story. They will also be useful to me in my classroom.

One thought on “Week 13 Response to a piece of selected scholarship: Digital Storytelling Finds Its Place in the Classroom.(Updated)

  1. Hello Meissa,

    When I am researching articles about digital storytelling it is surprising how long some of this content has been out there. The information shared about iMovie is helpful and even though outdated the basic concepts still apply. Similar to you I am also interested in using this resource in the classroom, but with adult learners and focused on leadership development.

    Like

Leave a Reply

